It is emotionally tough to be a mom that goes to work when I want to stay home.

I am happy that I have a job in a field that I enjoy. But many times when I am at work, working with other people’s children, I miss my own son ,and I want to be at home with him. For example, when I  am taking clients (kids) out to cultural events to help them with their social skills, I long for my son to with me so that I can experience the events with him, too.  I understand that I need a job to support my son, but I miss him terribly and in my heart I want to be a stay-at-home mom. But if I stay at home, I can’t pay my bills and Publisher’s Clearing House has yet to call my name.

I made him: I am responsible for him. And since I didn’t marry into wealth, I need to work to support him.  ” Mommy go to work, son,” is what I say before I leave and it always hurts as I watch tears roll down my son’s face but I am adamant about not getting on welfare to support the two of us.

Friends, family and even acquaintances have asked me why I don’t go on welfare since I do qualify. Here is the plain and simple answer: Society is not responsible for my son. I am responsible for him. I may need to take another job or have mac and cheese/ Top Ramen soup more often, but tax payers should not have to help me support my own child. I may need to blog my depression at times when I feel that I am sick and tired of not having propane all the time or gas in the car. But I made my bed and I need to figure out what to do so that I can make money and also be with my son. If there is a will, there is way. And by GODDESS, I will surely figure out how it is done.

About lisaandshasta123

I work with kids who have behavioral problems. I have an adorable two-year-old son. I would love to stay at home with him full time, but mommy needs to work for food, shelter, clothing and material goods.
This entry was posted in working mom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

